SCALEup

The incubator program for research and technology startups

The SCALEup incubation is the main focus of the INiTS services. Since INITS was founded, this program has been continuously adapted to the needs of early stage startups in the field of Research – Technology – Innovation (FTI) and shows them the path to market success. After a strict selection of suitable startups in the qualification phase, a one year incubation follows with the Startup Camp and the Growth Phase.

The heart of the incubation program is the Startup Camp. In this 100-day intensive guidance, an intensive workshop and training program, support from experienced consultants and mentors, and the innovative “Collaborative Business Modelling” approach turn an idea into a promising and scalable business model.

In a further nine months of Growth phase, startups take part in individual coaching sessions and special “briefing sessions” that prepare them for dealing with typical growth challenges.

In addition, SCALEup startups have the chance to receive up to € 100,000 STARTKapital.

QUALIFICATION

Phase 1 - prior to admission

Out of more than 200 applications, those who will present to the INiTS project advisory board are selected and developed in the qualification process. In this phase we work together with the project team on the business model and continuously check the fulfilment of selection criteria.

This phase is actually a qualification process in which the quality of the initial idea and its presentation is greatly enhanced through input, feedback and reflection. This also benefits applicants who ultimately do not make it to the intensive incubation programme. In addition, in cases that do not meet the selection criteria, we also recommend other programs that are better suited to the respective startup project.

These are the essential steps:

  • In the initial interview, an experienced advisor, together with the applicants, evaluates the extent to which the project and program profile are compatible. Here, the startup receives feedback and recommendations on how to proceed.
  • In workshops, the value proposition and the business model are checked for initial market relevance, scalability and consistency and adjusted if necessary. Here, we also get a first impression of the team.
  • During the Team Challenge, the startups present their further developed projects to the INiTS team and external experts and receive additional feedback.
  • The continued projects receive intensive and individual pitch training in preparation for the presentation to the project advisory board.

Project Advisory Board

In the final project advisory board meeting, experts from science and industry provide qualitative feedback and decide which ideas will be accepted into the incubation program.

STARTUP CAMP

Phase 2 - the first 100 days of incubation

The heart of the incubation program is the Startup Camp. In this 100-day intensive guidance, an intensive workshop and training program, support from experienced consultants and mentors, and the innovative “Collaborative Business Modelling” approach turn an idea into a promising and scalable business model.

Essential elements of the Startup Camp are:

  • Lean Startup Methodology: Rapid development of marketable prototypes under structured guidance of the INiTS team
  • Collaborative Business Modeling: regular 360° feedback from other startups, consultants and mentors
  • Workshops and trainings on patent law, financing, law, marketing etc.
  • Mentoring through personal support from experts experienced in the industry
  • Networking and fun events to get to know corporates, funding agencies, experts and alumni

During the Startup Camp, the INiTS Co-Working Space is available to startups at any time.

Demo Day

Demo Day concludes the Startup Camp. Here, incubated startups present their validated business model for the first time to selected investors, companies and funding agencies.

GROWTH

Phase 3 - the growth part of the incubation

In a further nine months of incubation, the growth phase, we accompany and support startups in questions of further financing and growth. During briefings and fireside chats with corporates, investors and alumni, our startups have the opportunity to access insider knowledge. In this phase, we also offer STARTKapital as a quick and uncomplicated way to obtain up to € 100,000 in risk-free equity capital.

As one of the first and most active incubators in Austria, we can rely on a large network of start-ups, companies, investors, mentors and academic institutions. We enjoy networking our incubees and using our expertise to help them achieve their goals.

INiTS provides office space during the growth phase.

INiTS Universitäres Gründerservice Wien GmbH
Maria Jacobi Gasse 1, Media Quarter Marx 3.2, 1.Stock, A-1030 Wien

office@inits.at
Tel.: +43 1 – 715 72 67
Fax: +43 1 – 715 72 67-25

Persönliches Profil

SCALEup

Das Inkubatorprogramm für Forschungs- und Technologiegründungen

Die SCALEup Inkubation bildet den Schwerpunkt der INiTS Leistungen. Seit Bestehen von INITS wird dieses Programm laufend an die Bedürfnisse von Early Stage Startups im Bereich Forschung – Technologie – Innovation (FTI ) angepasst und zeigt ihnen den Weg zum Markterfolg. Nach der strengen Selektion geeigneter Startups in der Qualifikation folgt ein Jahr Inkubation mit dem Startup Camp und der Growth Phase.

Das Herzstück des Inkubationsprogramms ist das Startup Camp. In dieser 100-tägigen intensiven Betreuung wird mit dem innovativen „Collaborative Business Modelling“-Ansatz, einem intensiven Workshop- und Trainingsprogramm und der Unterstützung erfahrener BeraterInnen und MentorInnen aus einer Idee ein erfolgversprechendes und skalierbares Geschäftsmodell.

In weiteren neun Monaten Growth Phase werden Startups in individuellen Coachings und speziellen „Briefing Sessions“ darauf vorbereitet, mit typischen Herausforderungen des Wachstums umzugehen.

Darüber hinaus haben SCALEup Startups die Chance, bis zu € 100.000 STARTKapital zu bekommen.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

QUALIFICATION

Phase 1 - vor der Aufnahme

In der Qualifikation werden aus über 200 Bewerbungen jene selektiert und entwickelt, die vor dem INiTS Projektbeirat präsentieren. In dieser Phase arbeiten wir gemeinsam mit dem Projektteam am Geschäftsmodell und überprüfen laufend die Kriterienerfüllung.

Diese Phase ist tatsächlich ein Qualifizierungsprozess, in dem durch Input, Feedback und Reflexion die Qualität der eigenen Idee und ihrer Präsentation massiv erhöht wird. Davon profitieren auch Bewerber und Bewerberinnen, die es schlussendlich nicht bis ins intensive Inkubationsprogramm schaffen. Darüber hinaus empfehlen wir in Fällen, die nach den Kriterien keine Chancen beim Projektbeirat haben, auch andere Programme, die zum jeweiligen Gründungsprojekt besser passen.

Das sind die wesentlichen Schritte:

  • Im Erstgespräch evaluiert ein/e erfahrene/r BeraterIn gemeinsam mit den BewerberInnen, inwieweit das Projekt- und Programmprofil kompatibel sind. Hier bekommt das Startup Feedback und Empfehlungen für das weitere Vorgehen.
  • In Workshops wird die Value Proposition und das Geschäftsmodell auf erste Marktrelevanz, Skalierbarkeit und Konsistenz überprüft und gegebenenfalls angepasst. Wir erhalten hier auch einen ersten Eindruck vom Team.
  • Während der Team Challenge präsentieren die Startups vor dem INiTS Team und externen ExpertInnen die weiterentwickelten Projekte und erhalten zusätzliches Feedback.
  • Die weitergeführten Projekte erhalten intensives und individuelles Pitchtraining zur Vorbereitung für die Präsentation vor dem Projektbeirat.

Projektbeirat

Im abschließenden Projektbeirat geben ExpertInnen aus Wissenschaft und Industrie qualitatives Feedback und entscheiden über eine Aufnahme in das AplusB SCALEup Inkubationsprogramm.

STARTUP CAMP

Phase 2 - die ersten 100 Tage der Inkubation

Herzstück der Inkubation ist das Startup Camp. In 100 Tagen intensiver Betreuung werden mit dem  innovativen Collaborative Business Modelling Ansatz, einem intensiven Workshop- und Trainingsprogramm und der Unterstützung erfahrener BeraterInnen und MentorInnen aus Gründungsideen erfolgsversprechende Geschäftsmodelle.

Wesentliche Elemente im Startup Camp sind:

  • Lean Startup Methodik: Rasche Entwicklung marktfähiger Prototypen unter strukturierter Anleitung des INiTS Teams
  • Collaborative Business Modelling: regelmäßige 360° Feedbacks von anderen Startups, Consultants und MentorInnen
  • Workshops und Trainings zu Patentrecht, Finanzierung, Recht, Marketing etc.
  • Mentoring durch persönliche Betreuung von branchenerfahrenen ExpertInnen
  • Netzwerk und Funveranstaltungen zum persönlichen Kennenlernen von Corporates, Förderstellen, ExpertInnen und Alumni

Im Startup Camp steht den Startups jederzeit der INiTS Co-Working Space zur Verfügung.

Demo Day

Das Startup Camp schließt mit dem Demo Day ab, an dem die inkubierten Startups das erste Mal ihr validiertes Geschäftsmodell vor ausgewählten InvestorInnen, Unternehmen und Fördergebern präsentieren. Danach folgen weitere neun Monaten Inkubation, die Growth Phase.

GROWTH

Phase 3 - der zweite Teil der Inkubation

In weiteren neun Monaten Inkubation, der Growth Phase, begleiten und unterstützen wir Startups bei Fragen der weiteren Finanzierung und des Wachstums. In Briefings und Kamingesprächen mit Corporates, InvestorInnen und Alumni haben unsere Startups die Möglichkeit, auf Insiderwissen zuzugreifen. In dieser Phase bieten wir mit STARTKapital auch die Möglichkeit, rasch und unkompliziert bis zu € 100.000 risikoloses Eigenkapital zu bekommen.

Als einer der ersten und aktivsten Inkubatoren Österreichs können wir auf ein großes Netzwerk an Startups, Unternehmen, InvestorInnen, MentorInnen und akademischen Einrichtungen zurückgreifen. Wir vernetzen unsere Incubees gerne und nutzen unsere Expertise, um sie bei der Erreichung ihrer Ziele zu unterstützen.

In der Growth Phase stellt INiTS Büroräumlichkeiten zur Verfügung.

Persönliches Profil